Monday, April 15, 2024

Ecomares project in Andalusia removes more than 74,000 kilos of marine litter in 18 months

September 2, 2021
Ecomares project in Andalusia removes more than 74,000 kilos of marine litter in 18 months

The Ecomares project, launched by the Andalusian Regional Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock, Fisheries, and Sustainable Development, has enabled the removal of 74,000 kilos of marine litter in just 18 months, thanks to the collaboration of the fishing sector.

The Regional Ministry initiated this project a year and a half ago to contribute to the use of clean energy. This initial assessment shows that the Andalusian fishing sector has demonstrated its awareness and commitment to the fight against climate change, marine cleanliness and waste recycling.

The funding forecast for Ecomares was initially set at 10 million euros for four years, but even before the halfway point has been reached, these figures have already been far exceeded. Financial support has already been approved for 44 initiatives proposed by sector organisations, companies, port authorities, municipalities, and associations, totalling 11.4 million euros. These investments are financed by the European Maritime and Fisheries Fund 2014-2020 (EMFF) and the Andalusian Regional Government’s funds.

The Ecomares project responds to a general protocol signed between the Government of Andalusia, the entities representing the Andalusian fishing sector, the economic and social agents, and the CEI-Mar Foundation. It is a commitment by the Andalusian Administration to protect the marine environment to achieve a clean and plastic-free coastline and improve the well-being of all citizens.

Other projects have enabled investments by marine aquaculture companies in renewable energies, regeneration of degraded areas, and improved waste management, among other improvements. Work has also been carried out by the canning industries on wastewater treatment, renewable energies, and energy efficiency. These actions have been carried out mainly in the provinces of Cadiz, Huelva, Malaga, and Seville.