Monday, April 15, 2024

Seville will host Euro 2020 this summer

April 23, 2021
Seville will host Euro 2020 this summer

UEFA has rewarded the effort made by the RFEF to guarantee the venue in our country and invites all fans to join in this football festival, cheering on our national team.

The RFEF wishes to celebrate the decision approved today by the UEFA Executive Committee. Spain will retain a venue for next summer’s European Championship at the Estadio de La Cartuja and fans will be able to enjoy the best football in Seville.

Taking into consideration the current pandemic context, there were two possibilities regarding the venue. On the one hand, it could go to one of the international cities that had applied for it, or it could stay in Spain. The RFEF considers it a priceless success to have been able to save the place for our country.

Spain will remain a benchmark in the competition to host 4 official matches, 3 of them for the national team in the group stage and another in the round of 16.

In addition, the RFEF would like to thank Bilbao for the work it has done for its candidacy despite the fact that, in the end, UEFA has decided to choose another city as the host city, due to the public projection scheduled for the month of June.

The national team already knows that it will play its first three matches in the company of its home fans, which means that Spain’s Base Camp will remain in Las Rozas.

Euro 2020 will be played from 11 June in an unprecedented host format to commemorate the 60th anniversary of the creation of this competition. The format will be similar to that of France 2016, with the top two teams from each of the six groups in the final phase progressing to the Round of 16 alongside the four best third-placed teams in a tournament for which a total of 24 teams have qualified.

The final competition dates were approved in July 2020. The matches assigned to Spain and to be played at La Cartuja Stadium are, within the group stage, Spain-Sweden (Monday 14 June); Spain-Poland (Saturday 19 June); and Slovakia-Spain (Wednesday 23 June). In the round of 16, the Andalusian capital will host the match scheduled for 27 June.